CONTEMPORARY GARDENS

Corps de résonance

DESIGNERS / CHARLOTTE BARBEAU, LEILA DESROSIERS, FÉLIX ROY

YEARS OF EXHIBITION / 2020  –  2021

THEME MÉTISSAGES

photo: JC Lemay

Project description

Corps de résonance is a musical folly that takes form in a forest glade. It takes advantage of the movement of visitors who, from within this giant instrument, create sounds that harmonize with those of a typical Quebec forest.

Curiously harmonized with the surrounding environment, the reflections and the colour of the structure diminish the contrast between the natural landscape and the artificiality of the tubes. Approaching it, the extrusions resemble the trees and the vertical plants. This mysterious form invites the curious to enter and discover its second nature. Mallets, left for the use of anyone who wishes to pick them up, are there to be hit against the metallic forms to make them vibrate with sound.

DESIGNERS / CHARLOTTE BARBEAU, LEILA DESROSIERS, FÉLIX ROY

Charlotte Barbeau, Leila Desrosiers and Félix Roy are environmental designers, graduates of the École de design de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Sébastien Trudelle has a Master’s degree in architecture from the Université de Montréal. They came together to work on this project as a multidisciplinary team with the ability to create objects, architecture and landscape. Charlotte and Leila (Studio barbeau desrosiers) created furniture Série 6000 that explores the reuse of various extruded aluminium profiles. This project was exhibited at the Festival international Design Parade in Hyères, France. Since 2019, Jean-Benoit has been interning at Atelier Bouré Therrien Architectes in Montreal. Félix is a designer at KANVA architecture in Montreal. With designer Adrien Rovero (ÉCAL, École cantonale d’art de Lausanne), Switzerland) he worked on a series of lighting prototypes in collaboration with the Montreal firm Lambert & fils.

Current gardens

Augmented Grounds

CONTEMPORARY GARDENS Augmented Grounds photo: JC Lemayphoto: JC Lemayphoto: JC LemayDESIGNERS / SOOMEEN HAHM, JAEHEON…
Current gardens

Le Caveau

CONTEMPORARY GARDENS Le Caveau photo: Anne WillowDESIGNER / CHRISTIAN POULESYEARS OF EXHIBITION / 2016 -…
Current gardens

Réflexions colorées

CONTEMPORARY GARDENS Réflexions colorées photo: Nancy GuignardDESIGNER / HAL INGBERGYEARS OF EXHIBITION / 2003  - …
Current gardens

Le rocher très percé

CONTEMPORARY GARDENS Le rocher très percé photo: Nancy GuignardDESIGNER / HUMÀ DESIGNYEARS OF EXHIBITION /…

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS

Corps de résonance

CONCEPTEURS / CHARLOTTE BARBEAU, LEILA DESROSIERS, FÉLIX ROY

ANNÉES D’EXPOSITION / 2020  –  2021

THÉMATIQUE MÉTISSAGES

photo: JC Lemay

Description du projet

Corps de résonance est une folie musicale émergeant dans un secteur boisé des Jardins de Métis. Elle tire profit des visiteurs en mouvement qui, à l’intérieur de cet instrument géant, peuvent résonner en harmonie avec l’atmosphère sonore de la forêt québécoise.

S’harmonisant curieusement avec la nature environnante, les reflets et la couleur du pavillon adoucissent le contraste entre son contexte naturel et sa matérialité artificielle. En s’approchant, la séquence d’extrusions laisse apparaître les arbres et la végétation en bandes verticales. Cette mystérieuse forme incurvée appelle les plus curieux à y pénétrer pour y découvrir sa seconde nature. Des maillets, laissés à la disposition des visiteurs, peuvent être frappés contre les corps métalliques afin de les faire vibrer.

CONCEPTEURS / CHARLOTTE BARBEAU, LEILA DESROSIERS, FÉLIX ROY

Charlotte Barbeau, Leila Desrosiers et Félix Roy sont des designers de l’environnement, diplômés de l’École de design de l’UQAM. Sébastien Trudelle est diplômé d’une maîtrise en architecture de l’Université de Montréal. Ils se sont réunis pour ce projet afin de créer une équipe multidisciplinaire, capable de raisonner entre l’objet, l’architecture et le paysage. Parmi leurs réalisations, Charlotte et Leila (Studio barbeau desrosiers) ont créé le mobilier de la Série 6000 qui explore le potentiel de récupération de divers profilés industriels en aluminium. Ce projet a été exposé à la 14e édition du Festival international Design Parade à Hyères, en France. Depuis 2019, Jean-Benoit est stagiaire en architecture chez Atelier Bouré Therrien Architectes à Montréal et Félix est concepteur et designer chez KANVA architecture. Ce dernier a travaillé avec le designer Adrien Rovero (ÉCAL, Suisse) pour l’élaboration d’une série de prototypes de luminaire en partenariat avec l’entreprise montréalaise Lambert & fils.

jardins actuels

Veil garden

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS Veil garden photo: Martin BondCONCEPTEURS / STUDIO BRYAN HANES,  DIGSAUANNÉES D'EXPOSITIONS /…
jardins actuels

Réflexions colorées

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS Réflexions colorées crédit photo: Nancy GuignardCONCEPTEUR / HAL INGBERGANNÉES D'EXPOSITIONS / 2003 …
jardins actuels

Le rocher très percé

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS Le rocher très percé crédit photo: Nancy GuignardCONCEPTEUR / HUMÀ DESIGNANNÉES D'EXPOSITIONS…
jardins actuels

Le Caveau

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS Le Caveau photo: Anne WillowCONCEPTEUR / CHRISTIAN POULESANNÉES D'EXPOSITIONS / 2016  - …

Leave a Reply