CONTEMPORARY GARDENS

aMAIZEing

DESIGNERS / MARTA MILÀ PASCUAL & MARC TORRELLAS ARNEDO

YEARS OF EXHIBITION / 2018  –  2021

THEME PLAYSAGES 2

Project description

The visitor is invited to walk through the cornfield maze, along the path or between the plants, discovering the three playscapes. aMAIZEing is a garden that emphasizes three main aspects of playing: shapes, movement and change.

Shapes are simple. The rectangle plot confines a dense crop field defined by a perfect grid made of corn. The gaps in the vegetation form three circles inside the crop mass which also contain three playful circular objects providing spaces for different groups and ages. Movement is key when playing. Outdoor activities in natural settings invite discovery. When we are children, by playing we are able to learn the boundaries of our motor skills while having fun. And as adults we can return to our childhood for a while. Playing we activate our physical motion by sitting, walking, running, climbing, jumping, crawling, stretching or squatting, but also our social expression and our creativity, interacting, sharing, learning, imagining and inventing. Changes are necessary to be adaptive. Unlike inert elements, natural elements have the ability to change. During its period of growth, the garden changes height and colour, becoming a dynamic playspace which provides different perceptions of the same elements: a garden to be ‘amaized’!

DESIGNERS / MARTA MILÀ PASCUAL & MARC TORRELLAS ARNEDO

Barcelona, Spain Marta Milà Pascual and Marc Torrellas Arnedo are architects who graduated from the Superior Technical School of the University of Barcelona. Marta also holds a Master’s degree in Landscape Architecture from the École nationale supérieure de paysage de Versailles. The essence of their work focuses on integrating every project into site by taking care of each layer to give each one of them the attention they deserve. Each designer has a different approach to the project process. Marta begins from the large-scale, thinking about the place, the history and the landscape while Marc starts from the small-scale, thinking about the detail, the construction and the architecture. Combining both approaches they succeed in defining unknown spaces as singular places.

photo: Martin Bond

Current gardens

Augmented Grounds

CONTEMPORARY GARDENS Augmented Grounds photo: JC Lemayphoto: JC Lemayphoto: JC LemayDESIGNERS / SOOMEEN HAHM, JAEHEON…
Current gardens

Le Caveau

CONTEMPORARY GARDENS Le Caveau photo: Anne WillowDESIGNER / CHRISTIAN POULESYEARS OF EXHIBITION / 2016 -…
Current gardens

Réflexions colorées

CONTEMPORARY GARDENS Réflexions colorées photo: Nancy GuignardDESIGNER / HAL INGBERGYEARS OF EXHIBITION / 2003  - …
Current gardens

Le rocher très percé

CONTEMPORARY GARDENS Le rocher très percé photo: Nancy GuignardDESIGNER / HUMÀ DESIGNYEARS OF EXHIBITION /…

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS

aMAIZEing

CONCEPTEURS / MARTA MILÀ PASCUAL & MARC TORRELLAS ARNEDO

ANNÉES D’EXPOSITIONS / 2018  –  2021

THÉMATIQUE PLAYSAGES 2

Description du projet

Le visiteur est invité à se promener dans le labyrinthe du champ de maïs, le long du chemin ou entre les plantes, à la découverte des trois paysages. aMAIZEing est un jardin qui met l’accent sur trois aspects principaux du jeu : les formes, les mouvements et les changements.

Les formes sont simples. Le rectangle confine un champ de culture défini par une grille faite de maïs. Les espaces vides forment trois cercles à l’intérieur de la masse végétale et contiennent également trois objets circulaires espiègles fournissant des espaces de jeu pour différents groupes et âges. Le mouvement est la clé du jeu. Les activités de plein air en milieu naturel invitent à la découverte. Quand nous sommes jeunes, nous sommes capables d’apprendre les limites de nos capacités motrices tout en nous amusant. Et en tant qu’adultes, nous pouvons retourner dans notre enfance pendant un moment. Les changements sont nécessaires à l’adaptation. Contrairement aux éléments inertes, les éléments naturels ont une capacité de changement. Pendant sa période de croissance, le jardin change de hauteur et de couleur, devenant un espace de jeu dynamique qui fournit différentes perceptions des mêmes éléments : un jardin étonnant!

CONCEPTEURS / MARTA MILÀ PASCUAL & MARC TORRELLAS ARNEDO

Barcelone, Espagne Marta Milà Pascual et Marc Torrellas Arnedo sont des architectes diplômés de l’École supérieure technique de Barcelone (ETSAB). Matha détient également une maîtrise en architecte paysagiste de l’École nationale supérieure de paysage de Versailles. L’essence de leur travail consiste à intégrer chaque projet dans un site en portant attention à chaque couche pour donner à chacune d’elles la singularité nécessaire. Ils ont chacun une approche différente face aux projets qu’ils développent. Marta commence à partir de la grande échelle, en pensant au lieu, à l’histoire et au paysage, tandis que Marc part de la petite échelle, en pensant au détail, à la construction et à l’architecture. En combinant leurs deux approches, ils arrivent à définir des espaces inconnus en les transformant en des lieux singuliers.

crédit photo: Martin Bond

jardins actuels

Veil garden

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS Veil garden photo: Martin BondCONCEPTEURS / STUDIO BRYAN HANES,  DIGSAUANNÉES D'EXPOSITIONS /…
jardins actuels

Réflexions colorées

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS Réflexions colorées crédit photo: Nancy GuignardCONCEPTEUR / HAL INGBERGANNÉES D'EXPOSITIONS / 2003 …
jardins actuels

Le rocher très percé

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS Le rocher très percé crédit photo: Nancy GuignardCONCEPTEUR / HUMÀ DESIGNANNÉES D'EXPOSITIONS…
jardins actuels

Le Caveau

NOS JARDINS CONTEMPORAINS Le Caveau photo: Anne WillowCONCEPTEUR / CHRISTIAN POULESANNÉES D'EXPOSITIONS / 2016  - …

Leave a Reply